Maps, Guides & More

Places and geographical objects on the map of Penama.

Map of Penama district in Vanuatu

Basic information about Penama
Penama is one of the six provinces of Vanuatu, located in the northeast of the country and consisting of three major islands: The name Penama is derived from the initial letters of PENtecost, Ambae and MAeo.
Cities, towns & villages in Penama
MelsisiMelsisi is a large settlement and Catholic mission on the west coast of Pentecost Island, Vanuatu. The mission includes a large church, convent, clinic, Francophone primary and secondary schools, and a small guesthouse. Melsisi also has a bank and post office, numerous small stores, restaurants, a sports field, and a shed by the beach where cargo ships come ashore. Although Melsisi has virtually no permanent population, many residents from surrounding communities have houses there, which they stay in when visiting Melsisi for church, school, work, medical treatment or transport. Each of these communities has its own nakamal in Melsisi, and many of these nakamals have commercial kava bars alongside. Show Melsision the map
BounlapBunlap is a village in the south-east of Pentecost Island in the Pacific archipelago of Vanuatu. It is the most well-known of a number of local kastom (custom) villages whose people aspire to retain a traditional lifestyle with minimal Western influences. Unlike some other kastom villages, which remain strictly closed off to foreigners, Bunlap has profited extensively from tourism in recent years. Show Bounlapon the map
States, regions, administrative units in Penama
Penama ProvincePenama is one of the six provinces of Vanuatu, located in the northeast of the country and consisting of three major islands: \n* Aoba (or Ambae) \n* Maewo and \n* Pentecost. The name Penama is derived from the initial letters of PENtecost, Ambae and MAeo.Show on map
Different buildings in Penama
Lonorore AirportLonorore Airport (IATA: LNE, ICAO: NVSO) or Lonoror (possibly from Ske lon or \"in the fence\") is an airport on south-western Pentecost Island, Vanuatu.Show on map
Sara AirportSara Airport (IATA: SSR, ICAO: NVSH) is an airport on northern Pentecost Island, Vanuatu.Show on map
Longana AirportLongana Airport is an airport in Longana, Vanuatu (IATA: LOD, ICAO: NVSG).Show on map
Mountains, roads, land forms, forests and other objects in Penama
Pentecost IslandPentecost Island is one of the 83 islands that make up the South Pacific nation of Vanuatu. It lies 190 kilometres (120 mi) due north of capital Port Vila. Pentecost Island is known as Pentecôte in French and Pentikos in Bislama. The island was known in its native languages by names such as Vanu Aroaroa, although these names are not in common use today. Pentecost has also been referred to as Raga or Araga, a tribal name that originated in the north but is now widely applied to the whole island. In old sources it is occasionally referred to as Whitsuntide Island.Show on map
ManaroLombenben is a 1,496 meter high shield volcano on the island of Ambae in Vanuatu. It rises about 3,000 meters above sea level. Other names for this volcano include Ambae volcano, Aoba, and Omba. Occasionally, the name of the volcano is confused with the name of its crater (Manaro).Show on map
Maewo IslandMaewo (local pronunciation: [ŋʷaewo]; formerly Aurora Island) is an island in Vanuatu in Penama province, 105 km to the east of Espiritu Santo. It is 47 km long, and 6 km wide, with an area of 269 km². Its highest point is 795 m above sea level. In 2009 the island had a population of almost 3,600.Show on map
LonganaLongana is a village located on the eastern part of Ambae island in Penama Province, Vanuatu. It covers land area of approximately 50 square kilometres (19 sq mi).Show on map
AobaAoba, also known as Ambae or Leper's Island, is an island in the South Pacific island nation of Vanuatu, located near 15°30′S 167°30′E / 15.500°S 167.500°E.Show on map