Maps, Guides & More

Places and geographical objects in Palau. Zoom in the map to level 7 to see the objects on the map.

Map of Palau

Basic information about Palau
NgaraardNgaraard is the eighth state of the Republic of Palau, and was originally named Kerradel. Ngaraard is located on the northern tip of Babeldaob directly adjacent to Ngarchelong state. There are five hamlets in Ngaraard, including Choll, Elab, Ngebuked, Ngkeklau and the state capital, Ulimang, located on the eastern shore of the state. Previously, the capital of Ngaraard was the village of Ngebuked, where the traditional leader of the state, Maderangebuked, lived and reigned. There is a saying in Ngaraard, A rengud a dokngei, meaning \everyone works together as one in spirit and in the heart.\Show Ngaraard the map
NgatpangNgatpang is one of Palau's sixteen states. It comprises an area of around 47 square kilometers in the west of Palau's largest island, Babeldaob, facing onto Ngeremeduu Bay. The state capital is Oikuul. It has a population of 464, making it Palau's 5th largest state in population.Show Ngatpang the map
SonsorolSonsorol is one of the sixteen states of Palau. The administrative center, and only village, is Dongosaru on Sonsorol island. The inhabitants speak Sonsorolese, a local Trukic language, and Palauan. The islands of the state of Sonsorol, together with the islands of Hatohobei, form the Southwest Islands of Palau. The state is subdivided into four municipalities, which correspond to the four individual islands, that were previously inhabited. The islands are, from north to south (Fanna Island and Sonsorol Island are together called Sonsorol Islands):Show Sonsorol the map
KayangelKayangel (Ngcheangel) is the northernmost state of Palau 24 km (15 mi) north of Koror. The land area is about 1.4 km2 (0.54 sq mi). The population is 138 (census of 2000). The state consists of three atolls in different states of development:Show Kayangel the map
HatohobeiTobi Island, or Hatohobei (Tobian language), is the southernmost of Palau's sixteen states, consisting of Tobi Island and Helen Reef. The total land area is about 0.88 km². The population was 80 in 1962, 51 in 1995, and 23 in 2000, with a population of 3 in 2016, showing a steady decline over time. Tobian, English and Sonsorolese are the official languages of Hatohobei State. The individual islands of Hatohobei, together with the islands of the state of Sonsorol, form the Southwest Islands of Palau.Show Hatohobei the map
AimeliikAimeliik is an administrative division of the island country of Palau. It is one of the Republic of Palau's 16 states. It has an area of 52 km² and a population of 270 (census 2005). State capital is the village of Mongami. Following the four other villages which are: Medorm, Imul, Elechui and Ngmechiangel.Show Aimeliik the map
AiraiAirai, located on the southern coast of Babeldaob island, is the second-most populous state of Palau. It contains the country's chief airport, Roman Tmetuchl International Airport, and is connected by the Koror-Babeldaob Bridge to nearby Koror Island. The state has an area of 44 km² (17 mi²), and a total population of 2700 as of 2004, the second largest in the country. Airai is also the name of the biggest town in the state, with a population of 920 people as of 2005. The town of Airai is the largest town in Palau outside of the state of Koror.Show Airai the map
AngaurAngaur (Japanese: アンガウル Hepburn: Angauru) or Ngeaur is an island in the island nation of Palau. The island, which forms its own state, has an area of 8 km² (3 mi²). Its population was 130 in 2012. The state capital is the village of Ngeremasch on the western side. A second village, Rois, is immediately east of Ngeremasch. Population development:Show Angaur the map
KororKoror is the state comprising the main commercial centre of the Republic of Palau. It consists of several islands, the most prominent being Koror Island (also Oreor Island). The state of Koror (population 14,000 as of 2004) contains about 70% of the population of the country. The nation's former capital and largest town, also called Koror, is located here. The town has a population of 11,200 and is located at 7°20′32″N 134°28′38″E / 7.34222°N 134.47719°E. On 7 October 2006, Ngerulmud replaced Koror as Palau's capital city.Show Koror the map
MelekeokMelekeok is a state of the Republic of Palau located on the central east coast of Babeldaob Island. The seat of government of the country Ngerulmud, is located in the state. The state consists of long beaches, hills, steep ridges, rivers and the largest and only natural freshwater lake in the Republic of Palau and Micronesia, Lake Ngardok.Show Melekeok the map
NgchesarNgchesar also known as \Oldiais\ is one of the sixteen states of the small pacific island nation of Palau. There are about 300 inhabitants, and its capital is Ngchesar. It is the sixth largest state in terms of land, with an area of roughly 40 square kilometers, and it is located on the eastern side of the island of Babeldoab Island, northwest of Airai State, and southeast of Melekeok State, where the Palauan government is situated. The sacred totem of Ngchesar is the [MANTARAY]]Ngchesar is famous for its war canoe \kabekel\ named Bisbusech which means Lightning.Show Ngchesar the map
NgarchelongNgarchelong is a state in Palau. Ngarchelong is at the northernmost tip of the island of Babeldaob. Only the state of Kayangel is farther north. Ngarchelong is an important historical site and has undergone archeological excavation. Ngarchelong is the site of ancient stone monoliths which are mysterious in origin. Traditional Palaun religion regarded these stone monoliths as sacred prayer ground. There are other stone monoliths located in and around the islands but one will not see as many as there are in Ngarchelong.Show Ngarchelong the map
NgardmauNgardmau is one of Palau's sixteen states and is located on the west side of Babeldaob between the states of Ngaraard and Ngeremlengui. Its total area is 20.5 square miles (53 km2). According to the last census, 221 persons live in Ngardmau. Their 46 households are situated in three hamlets: Ngetbong, Ngerutoi and Urdmau. The hamlets have no visible boundaries, but form one settlement. The highest elevation on Palau is in Ngardmau; Mt. Ngerchelchuus, which is slightly over 700 feet (210 m) tall. At the south base of this mountain is a forest with giant trees that shelter many species of birds.Show Ngardmau the map
NgaremlenguiNgeremlengui is one of Palau's sixteen states. It has a population of about 317 (according to the 2005 census), and is just west of the capital in Melekeok state. The capital of the state of Ngeremlengui is Imeong. Ngeremlengui is on the western side of Babeldaob, which is the largest island in Palau. Ngarelemgui is the largest of Palau's sixteen states in terms of land, and has an area of roughly 65 km2.Show Ngaremlengui the map
NgiwalNgiwal is one of the sixteen states of Palau. It has a population of 223 (census 2005) and an area of 26 km². The administrative center is Ngerkeai. Ngiwal is a small village on the east side of Babeldaob. Residents are mainly fishermen or work for the state. There are 3 small family-owned stores, an elementary school, and a public library in Ngiwal. The library has a large collection of children's books in English, a copy of all the Palauan books available, and a small number of books in Japanese and Spanish.Show Ngiwal the map
PeleliuPeleliu (or Beliliou) is an island in the island nation of Palau. Peleliu forms, along with two small islands to its northeast, one of the sixteen states of Palau. The island is noted as the location of the Battle of Peleliu in World War II.Show Peleliu the map