Maps, Guides & More

Places and geographical objects on the map of Sankuru.

Map of Sankuru district in Democratic Republic of the Congo

Basic information about Sankuru
Sankuru District is a district located in the Kasai-Oriental province, in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Sankuru was to be one of 25 proposed provinces specified in the country's Constitution of 18 February 2006), to take effect no later than February 2009. As of October 2010, this had not taken place.
Cities, towns & villages in Sankuru
LodjaLodja is a town in central Democratic Republic of the Congo. It is located at around 3°31′27″S 23°35′47″E / 3.52417°S 23.59639°E. Lodja is home to the Lodja Airport. (IATA Code: LJA)Lodja Airport, located 7 km north of Lodja, has one 1600 meter natural surface runway, oriented 88/268°. The geographic coordinates of this airport are 3 degrees, 29 minutes, south (-3.483) and 23 degrees, 28 minutes, east (23.467). Lodja Airport is 1647 feet (502 m) above sea level. Lodja has two active small aircraft strips, and a third inactive, as follows: Show Lodjaon the map
LusamboLusambo is a territory in and capital of Sankuru province, Democratic Republic of the Congo. The town lies north of the confluence of the Sankuru River and the Lubi River. Lusambo is served by Lusambo Airport. In 1999 the new Kabila government and its ally, the Zimbabwean government of Robert Mugabe, claimed that U.S. mercenaries were helping Ugandan and Rwandan-backed rebel forces who had surrounded 700 Zimbabwean troops near Lusambo during the Second Congo War. Show Lusamboon the map
Katako-KombeKatakokombe is a region of the Kasai region of what was formerly known as the Belgian Congo, now the Democratic Republic of Congo. It is the homeland of the Tetela people. After the independence of Congo in June 1960, it seceded for a while under influence of Belgium and became an independent kingdom. After the imprisonment and assassination of Prime Minister Patrice Lumumba, the Kasai province, and therefore Katakokombe, came back to Congo. Show Katako-Kombeon the map
LubefuLubefu is a community in Sankuru Province of the Democratic Republic of the Congo. It is the administrative center of the Lubefu Territory. Lubefu was established as a government station by the Belgian colonial administration, lying on the Lubefu River about 100 miles (160 km) upstream from Bena Dibele, a town on the Sankuru just below the point where it is joined by the Lubefu. Show Lubefuon the map
KoleKole is a rather remote town in central Democratic Republic of the Congo on the Lukenie River. It is the administrative center of the Kole Territory, which in turn is part of Sankuru Province. Kole is sometimes designated \"Kole Sur Lukenie\" to distinguish it from other \"Koles\" in the DRC. Show Koleon the map
Shinga DeuxièmeShinga Deuxième (Shinga, Shinga II) is a village in the East Kasai Province of the Democratic Republic of the Congo. It lies at an elevation of 611 meters along highway A807 fifty kilometers by road northwest of the town of Katako-Kombe, and just east of the Tshuapa River. Show Shinga Deuxièmeon the map
GengwaGengwa is a village in the Kasai-Oriental province of the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Show Gengwaon the map
States, regions, administrative units in Sankuru
SankuruShow on map