Maps, Guides & More

Places and geographical objects on the map of Kwango.

Map of Kwango district in Democratic Republic of the Congo

Basic information about Kwango
Kwango District is a district located in the Bandundu province, in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC).It takes its name from the Kwango River, a tributary of the Kasai River that defines the international boundary between the DRC and Angola. Under the constitution of 18 February 2006, Kwango District was scheduled to become Kwango Province, one of the 25 new provinces into which the DRC would be divided. Kwango became a full province with its capital of Kenge on July 18, 2015.
Cities, towns & villages in Kwango
PopokabakaPopokabaka is a city in the Kwango Province, Democratic Republic of the Congo. It is the administrative center of Popokabaka Territory. Popokabaka lies on the right bank of the river Kwango River. Francis Dhanis, an agent of the Congo Free State, established a station here around 1890. The territory of Popokabaka borders with Angola in the southwest. For a long time Popokabaka was the commercial center for trade with Portuguese traders who were selling essential items and buying local products.The military post at Popokabaka was used to control the flow of rubber into Portuguese Congo. Show Popokabakaon the map
Kasongo-LundaKasongo Lunda is a town and seat of Kasongo Lunda Territory, in the Kwango Province of the Democratic Republic of the Congo.The town lies near the border with Angola to the east, here defined by the Kwango River.As of 2012 the town was estimated to have a population of 23,820. Show Kasongo-Lundaon the map
KisanjiKisandji is a community in Bandundu Province, Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC). Show Kisanjion the map
States, regions, administrative units in Kwango
KwangoShow on map