Maps, Guides & More

Places and geographical objects on the map of Haut-Katanga.

Map of Haut-Katanga district in Democratic Republic of the Congo

Basic information about Haut-Katanga
Cities, towns & villages in Haut-Katanga
KapuloKapulo is a village in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the location of a cassiterite mine and of a planned copper mine. In 2007 one of the two remaining full FARDC brigades in Katanga was stationed in Pweto Territory. This brigade, the 62nd, was illegally exploiting the Cassiterite mine in Kapulo. The ore is exported through the Musosa, Moba Territory border crossing into Zambia, bypassing customs posts. Show Kapuloon the map
DubieDubie (also spelled Dubié) is a village in Pweto Territory, Haut-Katanga District, Democratic Republic of the Congo. The village suffered great damage during the Second Congo War, which technically ended in 2003. Following the war, local Mai Mai militia continued to operate in the area, living off the people.Army operations against the Mai Mai began in 2005. Many of the local people were displaced to Dubie. Almost all the internally displaced people (IDPs) were living in camps, since they have a different ethnicity from the residents of the village. Show Dubieon the map
KatangaKatanga was one of the eleven provinces of the Democratic Republic of the Congo between 1966 and 2015, when it was split into the Tanganyika, Haut-Lomami, Lualaba and Haut-Katanga provinces. Between 1971 and 1997 (during the rule of Mobutu Sese Seko when Congo was known as Zaïre), its official name was Shaba Province. Show Katangaon the map
LubumbashiLubumbashi (formerly official names: Élisabethville (French) and (Dutch)) in the southeastern part of Democratic Republic of the Congo, is the second-largest city in the country, after the capital Kinshasa. Lubumbashi is the mining capital of the Democratic Republic of the Congo, acting as a hub for many of the country's biggest mining companies. The copper-mining city serves as the capital of the relatively prosperous Katanga Province, lying near the border with Zambia. Population estimates vary widely but average around 1.5 million. Show Lubumbashion the map
PwetoPweto is a town in the Haut-Katanga Province of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC). It is the administrative center of Pweto Territory. The town was the scene of a decisive battle in December 2000 during the Second Congo War which resulted in both sides making more active efforts to achieve peace. Pweto and the surrounding region were devastated during the war. As of 2011 little had been done to restore infrastructure or rebuild the economy. The town is served by Pweto Airport. Show Pwetoon the map
SakaniaSakania is a town in Haut-Katanga District, in the far south of the Democratic Republic of Congo, near the border with Zambia.It is located at an elevation of 1278m asl, therefore it has a cool climate.In 1949 it recorded the lowest temperature in the history of the country, with -1.5C. The town is close to Frontier mine, one of the largest in the country. Show Sakaniaon the map
KipushiKipushi is a town in Haut-Katanga District, Democratic Republic of the Congo. It lies 35 km southwest of the city of Lubumbashi, very close to the border with Zambia, at an altitude of 1329 m (4363 ft). The main economic activity of the town is mining. Kipushi is part of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Sakania–Kipushi. Show Kipushion the map
MulungwishiMulungwishi is a community in the Katanga Province in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. It is located 100 miles northwest of Lubumbashi. Bishop John M. Springer and his wife established a mission station there in 1912. The United Methodist Church founded the Mulungwishi Seminary in 1951. Show Mulungwishion the map
KasumbalesaKasumbalesa or sometimes Kasile is a border town in the province of Katanga in the Democratic Republic of the Congo about 96 km south-south-east of Lubumbashi. It is located at the border with Zambia, and is connected by road and railway with Lubumbashi. Show Kasumbalesaon the map
MwadingushaMwadingusha is a community in the Kambove Territory of Haut Katanga District in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Show Mwadingushaon the map
LikasiLikasi has a humid subtropical climate (Köppen: Cwa). Show Likasion the map
States, regions, administrative units in Haut-Katanga
Haut KatangaShow on map
Different buildings in Haut-Katanga
ShituruShituru is a town that is now part of the city of Likasi in Katanga Province, Democratic Republic of the Congo. It is also the location of a copper mine, smelter and hydrometallurgical plant that was operated by the state-owned Gécamines.Show on map
ShinkolobweShinkolobwe is a town and a mine in the Katanga province of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), located near the larger town of Likasi and about 120 miles northwest of Lubumbashi. Around 15,000 people live in the town. The mine produced uranium ore for the Manhattan Project. It was officially closed in 2004.Show on map